About the university
Holmes Institute was established in 1963 and is one of Australia's longest-standing private education providers. It teaches business, accounting, information systems, cyber security, early childhood education and aviation.
It has campuses in Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane and the Gold Coast. Its accounting degrees are accredited by CPA Australia, CA ANZ and the Institute of Public Accountants (master's) or CA ANZ and CPA Australia (bachelor's).
Indian students look at Holmes for lower fees than most Australian universities (for example about A$17,600 a year for a bachelor's and A$27,600 in total for the 1.5-year MBA on the 2026 fee schedule) and for up to five intakes a year.
Holmes is not a university and is not in the global university rankings. Check that your chosen course and campus are registered on CRICOS before you apply.
- Founded
- 1963; one of Australia's longest-standing private education providers
- Type
- Private higher education provider (Holmes Institute Pty Ltd)
- CRICOS provider codes
- VIC 02639M, NSW 02767C, QLD 02727M
- Campuses
- Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane and Gold Coast
- Intakes
- March, May, July, September and November for many courses; March, July and November for some master's
- Accommodation
- No institute-managed student housing; homestay placement available
Rankings
Popular courses with Indian students
- Postgraduate
Master of Business Administration
- Fee / year
- A$18,400
- Duration
- 1.5 years (full time)
- Intakes
- March; May; July; September; November
- English
- IELTS 6.0 (no band below 5.5)
- Postgraduate
- Fee / year
- A$24,000
- Duration
- 2 years (full time)
- Intakes
- March; July; November
- English
- IELTS 6.5 (no band below 6.5), as listed on the course page
- Postgraduate
- Fee / year
- A$24,000
- Duration
- 2 years (full time)
- Intakes
- March; July; November
- English
- Not stated on the course page; check the Admissions Requirements Policy
- Postgraduate
Master of Professional Accounting
- Fee / year
- A$29,333
- Duration
- 1.5 years (full time)
- Intakes
- March; May; July; September; November
- English
- IELTS 6.5 (no band below 6.5), as listed on the course page
- Postgraduate
Master of Business Administration (Professional)
- Fee / year
- A$22,000
- Duration
- 2 years (full time)
- Intakes
- March; May; July; September; November
- English
- IELTS 6.0 (no band below 6.0)
- Postgraduate
- Fee / year
- A$18,400
- Duration
- 1 year (full time)
- Intakes
- March; July; November
- English
- Not stated on the course page; check the Admissions Requirements Policy
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- A$17,600
- Duration
- 3 years (full time)
- Intakes
- March; May; July; September; November
- English
- IELTS 6.0 (no band below 5.5)
- Undergraduate
Bachelor of Information Systems
- Fee / year
- A$17,600
- Duration
- 3 years (full time)
- Intakes
- March; May; July; September; November
- English
- IELTS 6.0 (no band below 5.5)
Fees for international students
| Course | Duration | Fee / year (AUD) | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Master of Business Administration | 1.5 years (full time) | A$18,400 | ≈ ₹12 lakh |
| Master of Information Systems | 2 years (full time) | A$24,000 | ≈ ₹15.6 lakh |
| Master of Cybersecurity | 2 years (full time) | A$24,000 | ≈ ₹15.6 lakh |
| Master of Professional Accounting | 1.5 years (full time) | A$29,333 | ≈ ₹19.1 lakh |
| Master of Business Administration (Professional) | 2 years (full time) | A$22,000 | ≈ ₹14.3 lakh |
| Graduate Diploma in Business | 1 year (full time) | A$18,400 | ≈ ₹12 lakh |
| Bachelor of Business (BBus) | 3 years (full time) | A$17,600 | ≈ ₹11.4 lakh |
| Bachelor of Information Systems | 3 years (full time) | A$17,600 | ≈ ₹11.4 lakh |
Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Holmes Institute with similar universities in Australia.
Scholarships
Admission requirements
Undergraduate
- Completion of an Australian Year 12, a Certificate IV or an equivalent qualification, such as Class 12, assessed by Holmes.
- An approved tertiary preparation program or a foundation year from an accredited higher education provider is also accepted.
Postgraduate
- Master's courses need an Australian bachelor's degree or equivalent, or an Australian Graduate Diploma.
- Other routes: a Graduate Certificate with two years of relevant work experience, or an Advanced Diploma or Associate Degree with five years of relevant work experience.
- The Graduate Diploma in Business gives a pathway into the MBA with advanced standing.
Documents
- Valid passport
- Degree certificate and transcripts (for master's)
- Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
- English test score
- Evidence of work experience if you apply through an experience-based route
- Genuine Student statement and financial documents for the visa
Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.
English language requirements
| Test or route | Typical requirement |
|---|---|
| IELTS Academic (bachelor's) | 6.0 overall with no band below 5.5. |
| IELTS Academic (master's) | MBA: 6.0 with no band below 5.5. MBA (Professional): 6.0 with no band below 6.0. Master of Information Systems and Master of Professional Accounting: 6.5 with no band below 6.5, as listed on the course pages. |
| Other evidence | Recent study in English at an Australian school or institution (for example Year 12 or a diploma) is accepted in place of IELTS. Course pages do not list PTE or TOEFL scores, so ask Holmes before booking another test. |
Accommodation and living costs
Holmes Institute does not offer institute-managed student accommodation. Student services (Help @ Holmes) give housing advice, and Holmes can arrange a homestay placement for a fee.
| Item | In AUD | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|
| Homestay placement and support feePer placement; rent is paid separately | A$350one-off | ≈ ₹22,750 |
| Enrolment feeCharged by Holmes on enrolment | A$250one-off | ≈ ₹16,250 |
Campus and location
Holmes has campuses in Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane and the Gold Coast. Some courses run only in Melbourne, such as the Master of Cybersecurity and the Bachelor of Professional Accounting.
- Four campuses: Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane and Gold Coast.
- Up to five intakes a year (March, May, July, September and November) for many courses.
- Accounting degrees accredited by professional bodies including CPA Australia and CA ANZ.
- Work-integrated learning placements can be arranged for a fee of A$1,500 per 30-day placement.
Careers and graduate outcomes
Holmes teaches business, accounting and IT degrees, and its accounting degrees carry professional accreditation. See our Australia guide for post-study work rules.
| What | Figure | Source |
|---|
Studying in Australia
Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Australia. Our country guide covers them in detail:
Other universities in Australia

Photo: Bob Tan, CC BY 4.0 PublicThe University of Melbourne (official website, opens in a new tab)
Melbourne, Australia
Often chosen for Life Sciences, Law, Business & Management

Photo: Rob Deutscher from Melbourne, Australia, CC BY 2.0 PublicMonash University (official website, opens in a new tab)
Melbourne, Australia
Often chosen for Medicine & Health Sciences, Engineering, Data Science & AI

Photo: J Bar, CC BY-SA 3.0 PublicUNSW Sydney (official website, opens in a new tab)
Sydney, Australia
Often chosen for Engineering, Computer Science & IT, Finance & Accounting

Photo: Donaldytong, Public domain PublicDeakin University (official website, opens in a new tab)
Melbourne and Geelong, Australia
Often chosen for Nursing & Allied Health, Computer Science & IT, Business & Management

Photo: No machine-readable author provided. KittySaturn~commonswiki assumed (based o…, Public domain PublicThe University of Sydney (official website, opens in a new tab)
Sydney, Australia
Often chosen for Business & Management, Engineering, Medicine & Health Sciences

Photo: BobTanGo, CC BY 4.0 PublicThe University of Queensland (official website, opens in a new tab)
Brisbane, Australia
Often chosen for Life Sciences, Engineering, Business & Management
FAQs
How much does a master's at Holmes cost?
On the 2026 offshore fee schedule the MBA is A$27,600 in total (1.5 years), the Master of Information Systems and Master of Cybersecurity are A$48,000 (2 years), and the Master of Professional Accounting is A$44,000. Fees are expected to rise 4% to 5% a year.
Is Holmes a university?
No. Holmes Institute is a private higher education provider, established in 1963, that offers bachelor's and master's degrees. It does not appear in world university rankings.
When can I start?
Many courses start in March, May, July, September or November. The Master of Information Systems, Master of Cybersecurity and Graduate Diploma in Business start in March, July or November.
Does Holmes provide accommodation?
No institute-managed housing is offered. Holmes can arrange homestay (A$350 placement fee) and its student services give advice on renting.
What IELTS score do I need?
Usually 6.0 overall with no band below 5.5 for bachelor's degrees and the MBA. Some master's list 6.5 with no band below 6.5, so check the course page.
Sources
- Holmes Institute: fees (opens in a new tab)
- Holmes Institute: international students (opens in a new tab)
- Holmes Institute: postgraduate courses (opens in a new tab)
- Holmes Institute: Master of Business Administration (opens in a new tab)
- Holmes Institute: Master of Information Systems (opens in a new tab)
- Holmes Institute: Master of Cybersecurity (opens in a new tab)
- Holmes Institute: Master of Professional Accounting (opens in a new tab)
- Holmes Institute: Bachelor of Business (opens in a new tab)
- Holmes Institute: about Holmes Institute (opens in a new tab)
Official website: www.holmes.edu.au (opens in a new tab)
Check the latest details