Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Flag of New Zealand

Manukau Institute of Technology

Auckland, New Zealand · Public · Est. Founding year not stated on MIT's pages; now part of the combined provider Manukau Institute of Technology and Unitec

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Founding year not stated on MIT's pages; now part of the combined provider Manukau Institute of Technology and Unitec

Type

Public

Location

Auckland, New Zealand

Ranking

Not ranked

About the university

Manukau Institute of Technology (MIT) is a public institute of technology in south Auckland. It describes itself as one of New Zealand's largest institutes of technology and is a Category 1 provider with NZQA. Since 2026 MIT and Unitec have operated as one combined provider, serving about 20,000 students a year across five Auckland campuses.

MIT is known for engineering, digital technologies, nursing, maritime training at the New Zealand Maritime School, and culinary and hospitality programmes. Its Bachelor of Engineering Technology is accredited by Engineering New Zealand.

Indian students often choose MIT's one-year graduate diplomas in civil or electrical engineering, the Bachelor of Engineering Technology and the Bachelor of Digital Technologies. International students must study on campus; online options are not open to them.

MIT's main campuses are in Manukau and Ōtara in south Auckland, with engineering at MIT TechPark and maritime training in the city centre.

Type
Public institute of technology; since 2026 part of the combined provider Manukau Institute of Technology and Unitec
NZQA status
Category 1 provider (MIT international page)
Students
About 20,000 a year across MIT and Unitec combined (Unitec's MIT and Unitec page)
Campuses
MIT Manukau, MIT Ōtara, MIT TechPark and MIT City (New Zealand Maritime School) in south and central Auckland
Intakes
February and July for most programmes
International fees 2027
About NZ$26,780 (IT) to NZ$31,556 (nursing) per 120 credits, indicative

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 8 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (NZD)Approx. in rupees
    Graduate Diploma in Engineering (Civil) (Level 7)1 year (120 credits, full time)NZ$30,076≈ ₹16.2 lakh
    Graduate Diploma in Engineering (Electrical) (Level 7)1 year (120 credits, full time)NZ$30,076≈ ₹16.2 lakh
    Bachelor of Engineering Technology (Civil) (Level 7)3 years (360 credits, full time)NZ$30,076≈ ₹16.2 lakh
    Bachelor of Digital Technologies (Level 7)3 years (360 credits, full time)NZ$26,780≈ ₹14.5 lakh
    Bachelor of Nursing (Level 7)3 years (360 credits, full time)NZ$31,556≈ ₹17 lakh
    New Zealand Diploma in Engineering (Civil) (Level 6)2 years (240 credits, full time)NZ$30,076≈ ₹16.2 lakh
    New Zealand Diploma in Information Technology Technical Support (Level 5)1 year (120 credits, full time)NZ$26,780≈ ₹14.5 lakh
    New Zealand Diploma in Business (Level 5)1 year (120 credits, full time)NZ$26,415≈ ₹14.3 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Manukau Institute of Technology with similar universities in New Zealand.

    Scholarships

      Admission requirements

      Undergraduate

      • Degrees ask for New Zealand University Entrance or an equivalent; MIT publishes academic entry requirements by country. Engineering technology needs strong physics and calculus.
      • Bachelor of Nursing also needs a health declaration, police screening, two referees, immunisations and an interview.
      • International students must study on campus and cannot take online options.

      Postgraduate

      • Graduate diplomas in engineering need a three-year bachelor's degree in the same engineering discipline, or equivalent experience.
      • Some MIT programmes, such as the Bachelor of Applied Management, are not available to international students, so check each programme page.

      Documents

      • Passport
      • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets, and degree certificate and transcripts for graduate diplomas
      • IELTS or other accepted English evidence
      • Health, police and referee documents for nursing

      Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

      English language requirements

      English requirements
      Test or routeTypical requirement
      IELTS Academic (engineering)6.0 overall; Bachelor of Engineering Technology needs 6.0 in writing and speaking and 5.5 in reading and listening
      IELTS Academic (nursing)6.5 with no band below 6.5
      IELTS Academic (NZ Diploma in Business)5.5 with no band below 5.0
      Other evidenceOther NZQA-recognised English evidence is accepted; MIT also runs English programmes

      Accommodation and living costs

      MIT does not publish accommodation prices on the international pages we could open. Its international page links to accommodation and arrival information; most students live in homestays or rent privately in Auckland. Contact MIT International for current options.

      Accommodation and living costs
      ItemIn NZDApprox. in rupees

      Campus and location

      MIT's campuses are spread across south and central Auckland, each focused on different subjects.

      • MIT Manukau: digital technologies, business and nursing.
      • MIT TechPark: engineering programmes.
      • MIT Ōtara: a main campus in south Auckland.
      • MIT City: the New Zealand Maritime School in central Auckland.

      Careers and graduate outcomes

      MIT's programmes are practical. The Bachelor of Engineering Technology is accredited by Engineering New Zealand, which supports professional membership. MIT does not publish graduate employment figures on the pages we used. For post-study work rights, see our New Zealand guide.

      Graduate outcomes
      WhatFigureSource

      Studying in New Zealand

      Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in New Zealand. Our country guide covers them in detail:

      Other universities in New Zealand

      Compare all universities in New Zealand

      FAQs

      How much does MIT cost for Indian students?

      Indicative 2027 international fees are about NZ$30,076 per 120 credits for engineering, NZ$26,780 for digital technologies and IT and NZ$31,556 for nursing. They exclude the Compulsory Student Services Fee.

      What is the link between MIT and Unitec?

      Since 2026 they operate as one combined provider, Manukau Institute of Technology and Unitec, though students still study under the MIT or Unitec name.

      Can I study online from India?

      No. MIT says international students must study in class and cannot enrol in online study options.

      When are the intakes?

      Most programmes start in February and July.

      Sources

      Talk to our counsellor

      Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Manukau Institute of Technology.

      IELTS / PTE status
      Best way to reach you

      #YouInspireUs

      Stories from our students and parents

      #StudyAbroadSample
      ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

      #1 Student name

      MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

      Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

      Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

      All student stories