Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Flag of United KingdomCardiff Metropolitan University logo

Cardiff Metropolitan University

Cardiff, United Kingdom · Public · Est. Over 150 years of history (exact founding year not stated by the university)

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Over 150 years of history (exact founding year not stated by the university)

Type

Public

Location

Cardiff, United Kingdom

Complete University Guide (UK) 2027

=72nd in the UK

About the university

Cardiff Metropolitan University (Cardiff Met) is a public university in Cardiff, the capital of Wales. It describes itself as a modern university that draws on more than 150 years of commitment to education in the Cardiff region.

Cardiff Met teaches across five schools: Art and Design, Education and Social Policy, Management, Sport and Health Sciences, and Technologies. It is especially known for sport, and calls itself Wales' sporting university.

For Indian students the main points are a single, relatively low master's fee (£17,600 in 2026/27), scholarships that are considered automatically, and September and January starts on most master's courses. Cardiff Met also accepts CBSE or ISC Class 12 English at 60% instead of IELTS, and lists the state boards it accepts.

Cardiff is the capital of Wales, in the south of the country. As a city outside London, the lower Student visa living-cost rate applies.

History
More than 150 years of education in Cardiff (university's own description)
Type
Public university in Cardiff, Wales, with five schools: Art and Design, Education and Social Policy, Management, Sport and Health Sciences, and Technologies
Intakes
Most master's courses start in September or January; some (MBA, Advanced Computer Science) also in May
Master's fee
£17,600 for most taught master's courses in 2026/27; MBA £19,500
Halls
549 rooms at Cyncoed Campus and 390 at Plas Gwyn, plus partner halls

Rankings

  • Complete University Guide (UK) 2027

    =72nd in the UK

Popular courses with Indian students

View all 19 courses with filters

Fees for international students

Course fees
CourseDurationFee / year (GBP)Approx. in rupees
MSc Data Science and Artificial Intelligence12–18 months, depending on start date£17,600≈ ₹21.5 lakh
MSc Data Science and Analytics12–18 months, depending on start date£17,600≈ ₹21.5 lakh
MSc Advanced Computer Science12–18 months, depending on start date£17,600≈ ₹21.5 lakh
MSc International Business Management1 year£17,600≈ ₹21.5 lakh
MBA - Master of Business Administration12–16 months, depending on start date£19,500≈ ₹23.8 lakh
MSc Advanced Cyber Security12–18 months, depending on start date£17,600≈ ₹21.5 lakh
MSc Project Management1 year£17,600≈ ₹21.5 lakh
MSc Computing and Information Technology12–18 months (2 years with an industry placement)£17,600≈ ₹21.5 lakh

Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Cardiff Metropolitan University with similar universities in the UK.

Scholarships

  • Taught MA and MSc courses with the £17,600 fee (2026/27 entry)

    Vice Chancellor Scholarship

    Value: Up to £3,500

    Eligibility: Based on academic and/or evidenced professional work experience. All international applicants are considered automatically; confirmed at offer. You must accept your offer by the deposit deadline.

    Official page (opens in a new tab)
  • MBA (2026/27 entry)

    MBA Scholarship

    Value: Up to £4,000

    Eligibility: Based on academic and/or evidenced professional work experience. Considered automatically.

    Official page (opens in a new tab)
  • Bachelor's (2026/27 entry)

    Undergraduate Scholarship

    Value: £2,500

    Eligibility: International undergraduate applicants; considered automatically. Only one Cardiff Met scholarship per student.

    Official page (opens in a new tab)
  • Undergraduate, taught postgraduate and MBA

    Full Fee Discount

    Value: Up to £1,000

    Eligibility: Students who pay their fees in full by the set deposit deadline.

    Official page (opens in a new tab)
  • Taught master's in Cardiff

    Alumni Scholarship

    Value: 20% off course fees

    Eligibility: Cardiff Met undergraduate degree holders, including graduates of its partner institutions overseas.

    Official page (opens in a new tab)

Admission requirements

Undergraduate

  • Year 1 entry to a three-year degree: 60% or above in Class 12 (ISC, CBSE/All India Senior School Certificate, state HSC or PUC).
  • A four-year degree with a foundation year (Year 0) needs 50% overall in Class 12 (55% in Maths/Science for health sciences).
  • A good three- or four-year polytechnic diploma may also give Year 1 entry.

Postgraduate

  • A bachelor's degree in arts, science, commerce, engineering, law or education from a recognised Indian institution, or a master's or PGDM.
  • Course pages usually ask for a 2:2-equivalent degree, often in a relevant subject (for example data science, maths, statistics, computing or engineering for MSc Data Science and AI).
  • Study gaps are assessed as part of the application.

Documents

  • Valid passport
  • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
  • Degree certificate and transcripts (for postgraduate courses)
  • English test score, or Class 12 English marks from an accepted board
  • Personal statement
  • CV and evidence of work experience (helpful for the Vice Chancellor and MBA scholarships)

Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

English language requirements

English requirements
Test or routeTypical requirement
IELTS Academic6.0 overall with no component below 5.5 for most courses. Courses needing 6.5 ask for 6.5 in reading and writing and 6.0 in the other components.
PTE Academic59 overall with 59 in each skill (62 for 6.5-level courses).
TOEFL iBTTests before 21 January 2026: 72 overall (reading 18, listening 17, writing 17, speaking 20). Tests from 21 January 2026: 4 overall with 4 in each skill. Home Edition is not accepted.
Duolingo110 overall with no component below 100 (120 for 6.5-level courses).
Class 12 English60% in the English component of CBSE or ISC Standard XII, or from listed state boards (including Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra and Telangana). Some postgraduate courses in the School of Education and Social Policy need 80%.

Accommodation and living costs

Cardiff Met has its own halls at Cyncoed Campus (549 rooms, self-catered and catered) and Plas Gwyn (390 self-catered en suite rooms), plus partner private halls. Hall contracts listed are 42 weeks, with rent paid in three instalments.

Accommodation and living costs
ItemIn GBPApprox. in rupees
Self-catered en suite (Cyncoed or Plas Gwyn, classic)42-week contract£156–157per week≈ ₹19,032 – ₹19,154
Self-catered en suite premium42-week contract£165–175per week≈ ₹20,130 – ₹21,350
Catered room with shared bathroom (Cyncoed)42-week contract£196per week≈ ₹23,912
Catered en suite (Cyncoed)42-week contract£223–225per week≈ ₹27,206 – ₹27,450

Campus and location

Cardiff Met is based in Cardiff, with halls at Cyncoed Campus and Plas Gwyn and seven catering venues across the university.

  • Five schools: Art and Design, Education and Social Policy, Management, Sport and Health Sciences, and Technologies.
  • Cyncoed Campus has 549 rooms across six types of accommodation, including catered halls.
  • Plas Gwyn has 390 self-catered en suite rooms in flats of eight.
  • A prepaid Food Bundle meal plan saves up to 20% on food at university catering venues.
  • Many bachelor's degrees offer an optional year-long industry placement.

Careers and graduate outcomes

Several courses, such as MSc Computing and Information Technology and BSc Computer Science, offer an optional industry placement year. Graduates can apply for the UK Graduate visa; see our UK guide for the current rules.

Graduate outcomes
WhatFigureSource

Studying in the UK

Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in the UK. Our country guide covers them in detail:

Other universities in the UK

Compare all universities in the UK

FAQs

How much is a master's at Cardiff Met?

Most taught master's courses are £17,600 for international students (2026/27 fee table) and the MBA is £19,500. The 2027/28 fee table was not yet published when we checked.

Are there scholarships for Indian students?

Yes. All international applicants are considered automatically. For 2026/27 entry the Vice Chancellor Scholarship was worth up to £3,500 on £17,600 master's courses, the MBA Scholarship up to £4,000 and the Undergraduate Scholarship £2,500.

Can I use my Class 12 English marks instead of IELTS?

Yes. Cardiff Met accepts 60% in the English component of CBSE or ISC Class 12, or from listed state boards. A few education and social policy master's courses need 80%.

Can I start in January?

Yes. Most master's courses on this page start in September or January, and the MBA and MSc Advanced Computer Science also start in May.

Does Cardiff Met accept Duolingo?

Yes, Duolingo is on its list of accepted secure English tests: 110 overall with no component below 100 for most courses.

Sources

Talk to our counsellor

Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Cardiff Metropolitan University.

IELTS / PTE status
Best way to reach you

#YouInspireUs

Stories from our students and parents

#StudyAbroadSample
ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

#1 Student name

MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

All student stories