Course overview
Mechanical Engineering Technology (Diploma) is a undergraduate (bachelor's) course in engineering at red-river-college-polytechnic in Winnipeg, Canada. It takes 28 months (two paid work terms), with intakes in September.
red-river-college-polytechnic is a public institution. Read the full course description, modules and entry rules on the official course page.
Key highlights
| University | red-river-college-polytechnic (Public) |
|---|---|
| Location | Winnipeg, Canada |
| Course | Mechanical Engineering Technology (Diploma) |
| Level | Bachelor's (undergraduate) |
| Subject area | Engineering |
| Duration | 28 months (two paid work terms) |
| Tuition per year | C$20,543 (≈ ₹13.8 lakh) |
| Intakes | September |
| English requirement | IELTS 6.0 (no band below 5.5); PTE 54; TOEFL iBT 78 (or 4.0 on the 2026 scale); Duolingo 115 |
Interested in Mechanical Engineering Technology (Diploma)?A counsellor checks your eligibility and helps you apply, free of charge.
Fees and costs
Tuition for international students is C$20,543 a year, about ₹13.8 lakh. Over 2.5 years that is roughly C$51,358 (≈ ₹34.4 lakh) before any yearly increase.
Year 1 estimate CA$20,543 in RRC's catalogue (academic year not stated); Year 2 CA$20,543, Year 3 CA$10,280
Living costs near the university
| Cost | In CAD | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|
| Budget quad roomFall 2026 and Winter 2027 | C$1,969–2,088per term | ≈ ₹1.3 lakh – ₹1.4 lakh |
| Budget double roomFall 2026 and Winter 2027 | C$2,767–2,935per term | ≈ ₹1.9 lakh – ₹2 lakh |
| Standard single or double roomFall 2026 and Winter 2027 | C$3,224–3,420per term | ≈ ₹2.2 lakh – ₹2.3 lakh |
| Premium single roomFall 2026 and Winter 2027 | C$3,655–3,879per term | ≈ ₹2.4 lakh – ₹2.6 lakh |
| International emergency health insuranceFor students not covered by Manitoba Health | C$863per year | ≈ ₹57,821 |
Living costs for Canada as a whole: C$20,000–30,000 a year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Plan my monthly living costsEligibility
General entry requirements at red-river-college-polytechnic for bachelor's courses. Some courses ask for more, so check the course page.
- Diplomas need Grade 12 (Class XII) with English and, for most technology and business programmes, Grade 12 maths. Engineering technology also asks for Grade 12 chemistry or physics (physics recommended).
- Post-graduate diplomas need a related diploma or degree: an IT qualification (or IT work experience) for Information Security, an engineering or construction qualification for Engineering and Construction Technologies, and a design qualification plus a portfolio for Communication Design.
- Three years of full-time high school taught in English in Canada, the US or an exempt country meets the English requirement; otherwise you need an approved test.
- Pay the CA$160 application fee and, after an offer, a CA$5,000 deposit that is credited to your fees.
English requirements
For this course: IELTS 6.0 (no band below 5.5); PTE 54; TOEFL iBT 78 (or 4.0 on the 2026 scale); Duolingo 115.
| Test | What the university asks for |
|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | 6.0 with no band below 5.5 for diplomas and post-graduate diplomas; 6.5 with no band below 6.0 for bachelor's degrees. |
| PTE Academic | 54 with at least 50 in each skill (diplomas); 60 with 55 in each skill (degrees). |
| TOEFL iBT | 78 (17 per section) for tests before 20 January 2026, or 4.0 (3.5 per section) on the new scale; degrees need 86 or 4.5. |
| Duolingo English Test | 115 with at least 95 in each section (diplomas); 125 with 100 in each section (degrees). |
| Schooling in English | Three years of full-time high school in English in Canada, the US or an exempt country can meet the requirement. |
Intakes
This course starts in: September.
Upcoming intakes and deadlines in CanadaHow to apply
- Check the entry requirements and the deadline on the official course page.
- Take IELTS, PTE or the test the university accepts, if you need one.
- Prepare your documents: transcripts, statement of purpose, recommendation letters and CV.
- Apply on the university's application portal and pay any application fee.
- Accept your offer, meet any conditions and pay the deposit.
- Apply for your student visa for Canada, then arrange accommodation.
Documents you'll need
- Valid passport
- Class 10 and Class XII mark sheets
- Diploma or degree transcripts (post-graduate diplomas), sent directly from your institution and issued within 6 months
- English test result
- Portfolio (Communication Design)
- Proof of funds for the study permit
About red-river-college-polytechnic
Red River College Polytechnic traces its roots to 1938, when vocational education centres opened in Winnipeg. It took the name Red River Community College in 1969 and became Red River College Polytechnic (RRC Polytech) in 2021.
RRC Polytech is a public polytechnic focused on hands-on diplomas in IT, cyber security, data science, engineering technology, construction, business, health and design, many with co-op or work-integrated learning terms. It offers more than 60 programmes for international students.
Similar courses
Engineering courses at other universities in Canada
- Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology – Telecommunications and Networks Option (Diploma)bcit2 years full-time (4 terms), optional co-op · C$25,719 / year
- Mechanical Engineering Technology – Mechanical Design Option (Diploma)bcit2 years full-time · C$25,719 / year
- Mechanical Engineering Technician (Diploma)cambrian-college2 years (4 semesters) · C$19,436 / year
- Civil Engineering Technician (Diploma)cambrian-college2 years (4 semesters) · C$19,436 / year
- Mechanical Engineering – Technology (Advanced Diploma)canadore-college3 years (a 2-year Technician diploma is also offered) · C$18,027 / year
- Bachelor of Engineering Technologycape-breton-university3 or 4 years (a 2-year Diploma of Engineering Technology is also offered); streams include Chemical, Electronics & Controls, Manufacturing and Mechanical · C$23,794 / year
More courses at red-river-college-polytechnic
- Applied Data Science and Artificial Intelligence (Diploma)2 years (four terms, including a work-integrated learning term) · C$23,865 / year
- Information Security (Post-Graduate Diploma)2 years (minimum 16 months) · C$15,510 / year
- Cybersecurity (Diploma)2 years (minimum 16 months, with a 15-week work term) · C$22,614 / year
- IT Operations (Diploma)2 years (20 months) · C$23,865 / year
- Engineering and Construction Technologies (Post-Graduate Diploma)16 months (including a mandatory paid co-op) · C$19,089 / year
- Construction Management (Bachelor of Technology)4 years (44 months, three paid six-month co-op terms) · C$21,998 / year
FAQs
What is the fee for Mechanical Engineering Technology (Diploma) at red-river-college-polytechnic?
The tuition for international students is C$20,543 a year (about ₹13.8 lakh). Year 1 estimate CA$20,543 in RRC's catalogue (academic year not stated); Year 2 CA$20,543, Year 3 CA$10,280. Fees usually rise each year, so check the course page before you apply.
How long is Mechanical Engineering Technology (Diploma)?
The course takes 28 months (two paid work terms).
What English score do I need?
IELTS 6.0 (no band below 5.5); PTE 54; TOEFL iBT 78 (or 4.0 on the 2026 scale); Duolingo 115. Some universities also accept Class 12 English marks or other tests; confirm on the course page.
When can I start?
Intakes: September. Apply early: popular courses can fill up before the deadline.
Can Admission Mantra help me apply?
Yes. A counsellor checks your eligibility, helps you prepare your documents and statement of purpose, and guides you through the application and visa. The first conversation is free.
We researched this page on 28 Oct 2026 from the university's own pages. Fees, entry rules and intakes change every year; confirm them on the official course page before you apply. Listing a course doesn't mean Admission Mantra represents the university.
- red-river-college-polytechnic: Mechanical Engineering Technology (Diploma) (opens in a new tab)
- RRC Polytech: list of programmes for international students (opens in a new tab)
- RRC Polytech: Applied Data Science and AI (catalogue) (opens in a new tab)
- RRC Polytech: Information Security post-graduate diploma (catalogue) (opens in a new tab)
- RRC Polytech: Construction Management (catalogue) (opens in a new tab)