About the university
Auckland Institute of Studies (AIS) is a private tertiary institution in Auckland, established in 1990. It describes itself as one of New Zealand's largest independent degree-granting institutions and is a Category 1 provider with NZQA.
AIS teaches diplomas, bachelor's degrees and postgraduate qualifications in business, business administration, information technology and hospitality and tourism management, plus English language courses.
Indian students look at AIS for its MBA and Master of Information Technology, one-year postgraduate and graduate diplomas, and a 15% Standard Scholarship that applies to all programmes. Its 2026 fees are lower than at most New Zealand universities.
Auckland is New Zealand's largest city and its main business centre.
- Founded
- 1990
- Type
- Private tertiary institution; describes itself as one of New Zealand's largest independent degree-granting institutions
- NZQA status
- Category 1 provider (AIS homepage)
- Campus
- Auckland
- Subjects
- Business, business administration, information technology, hospitality and tourism management, English language
- Scholarship
- 15% Standard Scholarship on tuition for all programmes (2026 flyer)
Rankings
Popular courses with Indian students
- Postgraduate
Master of Information Technology (MIT)
- Fee / year
- NZ$29,205
- Duration
- 16 months (Level 9)
- Intakes
- Check with AIS (scholarship applies to intakes from Term 2 2026)
- English
- Not stated in the fee flyer; confirm the IELTS/PTE requirement with AIS
- Postgraduate
Master of Business Administration (MBA)
- Fee / year
- NZ$25,960
- Duration
- 18 months (Level 9)
- Intakes
- Check with AIS
- English
- Not stated in the fee flyer; confirm the IELTS/PTE requirement with AIS
- Postgraduate
Postgraduate Diploma in Information Technology (PGDIT)
- Fee / year
- NZ$25,960
- Duration
- 12 months (Level 8)
- Intakes
- Check with AIS
- English
- Not stated in the fee flyer; confirm the IELTS/PTE requirement with AIS
- Postgraduate
Postgraduate Diploma in Business Administration (PGDBA)
- Fee / year
- NZ$25,960
- Duration
- 12 months (Level 8)
- Intakes
- Check with AIS
- English
- Not stated in the fee flyer; confirm the IELTS/PTE requirement with AIS
- Postgraduate
Graduate Diploma in Information Technology (GDIT)
- Fee / year
- NZ$24,750
- Duration
- 12 months (Level 7)
- Intakes
- Check with AIS
- English
- Not stated in the fee flyer; confirm the IELTS/PTE requirement with AIS
- Postgraduate
Graduate Diploma in Business (GDBus)
- Fee / year
- NZ$22,000
- Duration
- 12 months (Level 7)
- Intakes
- Check with AIS
- English
- Not stated in the fee flyer; confirm the IELTS/PTE requirement with AIS
- Undergraduate
Bachelor of Information Technology (BIT)
- Fee / year
- NZ$22,000
- Duration
- 36 months (Level 7)
- Intakes
- Check with AIS
- English
- Not stated in the fee flyer; confirm the IELTS/PTE requirement with AIS
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- NZ$22,000
- Duration
- 36 months (Level 7)
- Intakes
- Check with AIS
- English
- Not stated in the fee flyer; confirm the IELTS/PTE requirement with AIS
Fees for international students
| Course | Duration | Fee / year (NZD) | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Master of Information Technology (MIT) | 16 months (Level 9) | NZ$29,205 | ≈ ₹15.8 lakh |
| Master of Business Administration (MBA) | 18 months (Level 9) | NZ$25,960 | ≈ ₹14 lakh |
| Postgraduate Diploma in Information Technology (PGDIT) | 12 months (Level 8) | NZ$25,960 | ≈ ₹14 lakh |
| Postgraduate Diploma in Business Administration (PGDBA) | 12 months (Level 8) | NZ$25,960 | ≈ ₹14 lakh |
| Graduate Diploma in Information Technology (GDIT) | 12 months (Level 7) | NZ$24,750 | ≈ ₹13.4 lakh |
| Graduate Diploma in Business (GDBus) | 12 months (Level 7) | NZ$22,000 | ≈ ₹11.9 lakh |
| Bachelor of Information Technology (BIT) | 36 months (Level 7) | NZ$22,000 | ≈ ₹11.9 lakh |
| Bachelor of Business (BBus) | 36 months (Level 7) | NZ$22,000 | ≈ ₹11.9 lakh |
Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Auckland Institute of Studies with similar universities in New Zealand.
Scholarships
- All programmes
AIS Standard Scholarship
Value: 15% of the tuition fee
Eligibility: Applications for intakes from Term 2 2026 onwards; full conditions not stated in the flyer.
Official page (opens in a new tab) - NZ Certificate in English Language Level 4 or 5 combined with a main programme
NZCEL Rebate
Value: NZ$5,000 combined rebate after successful progression; can be combined with other scholarships
Eligibility: Students who complete NZCEL at AIS and progress into a main programme.
Official page (opens in a new tab)
Admission requirements
Undergraduate
- AIS's entry requirements are published on its website; check them for your Indian Class 12 results before applying.
- English language students can take the NZ Certificate in English Language (Level 4 or 5) at AIS and progress into a main programme with a NZ$5,000 rebate.
Postgraduate
- Postgraduate diplomas, graduate diplomas and master's need a relevant bachelor's degree; confirm the grade and work experience requirements with AIS.
Documents
- Passport
- Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets, and degree certificate and transcripts for postgraduate study
- English test result
Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.
English language requirements
| Test or route | Typical requirement |
|---|---|
| IELTS / PTE | AIS's programme requirements could not be checked; confirm the required IELTS or PTE score with AIS |
| English pathway | NZ Certificate in English Language (Academic) Level 4 or 5: 14 weeks full time, NZ$6,440 (2026) |
| NZCEL rebate | NZ$5,000 combined rebate when you progress from NZCEL into a main programme |
Accommodation and living costs
AIS does not publish accommodation costs on the pages we could open. Most international students in Auckland live in homestays or rent privately; ask AIS's student services for current options.
| Item | In NZD | Approx. in rupees |
|---|
Campus and location
AIS teaches at its Auckland campus.
- Business, IT, hospitality and English language programmes on one Auckland campus.
- Student Council with representatives of different nationalities.
- Offshore online study options are also offered.
Careers and graduate outcomes
AIS's programmes focus on business, IT and hospitality careers. It does not publish graduate employment figures on the pages we used. For post-study work rights, see our New Zealand guide.
| What | Figure | Source |
|---|
Studying in New Zealand
Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in New Zealand. Our country guide covers them in detail:
Other universities in New Zealand

Photo: Colin Rose from Montreal, Canada, CC BY 2.0 PublicUniversity of Auckland (official website, opens in a new tab)
Auckland, New Zealand
Often chosen for Engineering, Business & Management, Medicine & Health Sciences

Photo: ArtNewNZ, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicUniversity of Otago (official website, opens in a new tab)
Dunedin, New Zealand
Often chosen for Medicine & Health Sciences, Life Sciences

Photo: Panamitsu, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicVictoria University of Wellington (official website, opens in a new tab)
Wellington, New Zealand
Often chosen for Law, Computer Science & IT, Arts, Design & Media

Photo: Photograph by Greg O'Beirne, CC BY-SA 3.0 PublicUniversity of Canterbury (official website, opens in a new tab)
Christchurch, New Zealand
Often chosen for Engineering, Computer Science & IT, Business & Management

Photo: Sophbuchan, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicAuckland University of Technology (AUT) (official website, opens in a new tab)
Auckland, New Zealand
Often chosen for Computer Science & IT, Business & Management, Nursing & Allied Health

Photo: Michal Klajban, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicMassey University (official website, opens in a new tab)
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Often chosen for Business & Management, Life Sciences, Arts, Design & Media
FAQs
How much does AIS cost for Indian students?
AIS's 2026 fees are NZ$38,940 for the MBA or Master of Information Technology, NZ$25,960 for a postgraduate diploma and NZ$22,000 per 120 credits for bachelor's degrees, before the 15% Standard Scholarship.
Is AIS a university?
No. AIS is a private tertiary institution that awards its own NZQA-approved degrees. It is rated Category 1 by NZQA.
Is there a scholarship?
Yes. The Standard Scholarship takes 15% off tuition for all programmes, for intakes from Term 2 2026.
Can I work after studying at AIS?
Post-study work rights depend on your qualification level and New Zealand immigration rules. See our New Zealand guide.
Sources
Official website: www.ais.ac.nz (opens in a new tab)
Check the latest details