Course overview
Graduate Diploma in Information Technology is a postgraduate (master's) course in computer science & it at Otago Polytechnic in Dunedin, New Zealand. It takes 1 year (120 credits, full time), with intakes in February; July (Dunedin); October also in Auckland.
Otago Polytechnic is a public institution. Read the full course description, modules and entry rules on the official course page.
Key highlights
| University | Otago Polytechnic (Public) |
|---|---|
| Location | Dunedin, New Zealand |
| Course | Graduate Diploma in Information Technology |
| Level | Master's (postgraduate) |
| Subject area | Computer Science & IT |
| Duration | 1 year (120 credits, full time) |
| Tuition per year | NZ$26,900 (≈ ₹14.5 lakh) |
| Intakes | February; July (Dunedin); October also in Auckland |
| English requirement | IELTS 6.0 (no band below 5.5) |
Interested in Graduate Diploma in Information Technology?A counsellor checks your eligibility and helps you apply, free of charge.
Fees and costs
Tuition for international students is NZ$26,900 a year, about ₹14.5 lakh.
Standard fee, year not stated; NZ$23,400 with the scholarship. Auckland 2026 intakes: NZ$26,572
Living costs near the university
| Cost | In NZD | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|
| Te Pā Tauira catered dorm room | NZ$535per week | ≈ ₹28,890 |
| Te Pā Tauira catered ensuite room | NZ$561per week | ≈ ₹30,294 |
| Te Pā Tauira self-catered studioStudio from $444, deluxe studio from $466 | NZ$444–466per week | ≈ ₹23,976 – ₹25,164 |
| Te Pā Tauira room in a 4-bedroom apartmentFrom $393 | NZ$393per week | ≈ ₹21,222 |
| Te Pā Tauira upfront fees$250 administration, $350 residents' association, $300 refundable contingency | NZ$900one-off | ≈ ₹48,600 |
Living costs for New Zealand as a whole: NZ$20,000–27,000 a year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Plan my monthly living costsEligibility
General entry requirements at Otago Polytechnic for master's courses. Some courses ask for more, so check the course page.
- Master's in applied management ask for a related bachelor's degree with a B- average at Levels 7/8, or equivalent qualifications and work experience.
- Graduate diplomas accept an undergraduate degree or equivalent experience.
- If there are more applicants than places, selection is based on academic record.
English requirements
For this course: IELTS 6.0 (no band below 5.5).
| Test | What the university asks for |
|---|---|
| IELTS Academic (bachelor's and graduate diplomas) | 6.0 overall with no band below 5.5 for most programmes; Bachelor of Engineering Technology needs 6.0 in writing and speaking |
| IELTS Academic (master's and postgraduate diplomas) | 6.5 overall with no band below 6.0 |
| Bachelor of Nursing | IELTS 6.5 with no band below 6.5, or OET C+ in each section in one sitting |
| Other evidence | Other internationally recognised tests are accepted under NZQA rules; English courses are available if you fall short |
Intakes
This course starts in: February; July (Dunedin); October also in Auckland.
Upcoming intakes and deadlines in New ZealandHow to apply
- Check the entry requirements and the deadline on the official course page.
- Take IELTS, PTE or the test the university accepts, if you need one.
- Prepare your documents: transcripts, statement of purpose, recommendation letters and CV.
- Apply on the university's application portal and pay any application fee.
- Accept your offer, meet any conditions and pay the deposit.
- Apply for your student visa for New Zealand, then arrange accommodation.
Documents you'll need
- Passport (certified copy)
- Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets, and degree certificate and transcripts for postgraduate study
- IELTS or other accepted English evidence from a test taken in the last two years
- CV, cover letter and references where the programme asks for them
Scholarships
2027 Otago Polytechnic International Scholarships
Most certificates, diplomas, degrees and postgraduate programmes
Value: Varies by programme; applied to tuition for up to 120 credits in the first year (for example NZ$26,900 becomes NZ$23,400 for the Bachelor of Information Technology)
New international students starting full-time study in 2027 who meet entry requirements. No application: you are considered automatically. Cannot be deferred to 2028 or combined with other awards.
Official page2026/2027 International English Pathways Scholarship
English language pathway students
Value: See the scholarship page for current value
International students taking an English pathway into an Otago Polytechnic programme.
Official page
About Otago Polytechnic
Otago Polytechnic is a public institute of technology based in Dunedin, in the south of New Zealand's South Island. It also has campuses in Central Otago and an Auckland International Campus for international students. It celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2016.
The polytechnic is known for hands-on, career-focused programmes in engineering technology, information technology, construction, nursing, design, culinary arts and applied management. Its Bachelor of Engineering Technology is accredited by Engineering New Zealand and its Bachelor of Construction by the New Zealand Institute of Quantity Surveyors.
Similar courses
Computer Science & IT courses at other universities in New Zealand
- Master of Information Technology (MIT)auckland-institute-of-studies16 months (Level 9) · NZ$29,205 / year
- Postgraduate Diploma in Information Technology (PGDIT)auckland-institute-of-studies12 months (Level 8) · NZ$25,960 / year
- Graduate Diploma in Information Technology (GDIT)auckland-institute-of-studies12 months (Level 7) · NZ$24,750 / year
- Master of Computer and Information SciencesAuckland University of Technology (AUT)Check the programme page · NZ$49,460 / year
- Master of Cyber Security and Digital ForensicsAuckland University of Technology (AUT)Check the programme page · NZ$48,560 / year
- Master of IT Project ManagementAuckland University of Technology (AUT)Check the programme page · NZ$49,460 / year
More courses at Otago Polytechnic
- Master of Applied Management (Business Information Systems)18 months (180 credits, full time) · NZ$28,590 / year
- Master of Applied Management (Business Management)18 months (180 credits, full time) · NZ$29,600 / year
- Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Management (Business Information Systems)1 year (120 credits, full time) · NZ$28,590 / year
- Graduate Diploma in Applied Management1 year (120 credits, full time) · NZ$23,400 / year
- Bachelor of Information Technology3 years (360 credits, full time) · NZ$26,900 / year
- Bachelor of Engineering Technology3 years (360 credits, full time) · NZ$29,000 / year
FAQs
What is the fee for Graduate Diploma in Information Technology at Otago Polytechnic?
The tuition for international students is NZ$26,900 a year (about ₹14.5 lakh). Standard fee, year not stated; NZ$23,400 with the scholarship. Auckland 2026 intakes: NZ$26,572. Fees usually rise each year, so check the course page before you apply.
How long is Graduate Diploma in Information Technology?
The course takes 1 year (120 credits, full time).
What English score do I need?
IELTS 6.0 (no band below 5.5). Some universities also accept Class 12 English marks or other tests; confirm on the course page.
When can I start?
Intakes: February; July (Dunedin); October also in Auckland. Apply early: popular courses can fill up before the deadline.
Can Admission Mantra help me apply?
Yes. A counsellor checks your eligibility, helps you prepare your documents and statement of purpose, and guides you through the application and visa. The first conversation is free.
We researched this page on 28 Oct 2026 from the university's own pages. Fees, entry rules and intakes change every year; confirm them on the official course page before you apply. Listing a course doesn't mean Admission Mantra represents the university.
- Otago Polytechnic: Graduate Diploma in Information Technology (opens in a new tab)
- Otago Polytechnic: International (opens in a new tab)
- Otago Polytechnic: International fees table (opens in a new tab)
- Otago Polytechnic: Fees for international students (opens in a new tab)
- Otago Polytechnic: 2027 International Scholarships (opens in a new tab)