Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Flag of New Zealand

Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Management (Business Information Systems)

Otago Polytechnic · Dunedin, New Zealand · Master's (postgraduate)

Researched 28 Oct 2026

Apply with usCall usOfficial course page (opens in a new tab)

Level

Master's

Duration

1 year (120 credits, full time)

Tuition / year

NZ$28,590 (≈ ₹15.4 lakh)

Intakes

February; April; July; October (Auckland)

Course overview

Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Management (Business Information Systems) is a postgraduate (master's) course in data science & ai at Otago Polytechnic in Dunedin, New Zealand. It takes 1 year (120 credits, full time), with intakes in February; April; July; October (Auckland).

Otago Polytechnic is a public institution. Read the full course description, modules and entry rules on the official course page.

Key highlights

Key highlights
UniversityOtago Polytechnic (Public)
LocationDunedin, New Zealand
CoursePostgraduate Diploma in Applied Management (Business Information Systems)
LevelMaster's (postgraduate)
Subject areaData Science & AI
Duration1 year (120 credits, full time)
Tuition per yearNZ$28,590 (≈ ₹15.4 lakh)
IntakesFebruary; April; July; October (Auckland)
English requirementIELTS 6.5 (no band below 6.0)

Interested in Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Management (Business Information Systems)?A counsellor checks your eligibility and helps you apply, free of charge.

Fees and costs

Tuition for international students is NZ$28,590 a year, about ₹15.4 lakh.

Auckland International fee; NZ$26,590 with the scholarship. Fee year not stated

Living costs near the university

Living costs
CostIn NZDApprox. in rupees
Te Pā Tauira catered dorm roomNZ$535per week≈ ₹28,890
Te Pā Tauira catered ensuite roomNZ$561per week≈ ₹30,294
Te Pā Tauira self-catered studioStudio from $444, deluxe studio from $466NZ$444–466per week≈ ₹23,976 – ₹25,164
Te Pā Tauira room in a 4-bedroom apartmentFrom $393NZ$393per week≈ ₹21,222
Te Pā Tauira upfront fees$250 administration, $350 residents' association, $300 refundable contingencyNZ$900one-off≈ ₹48,600

Living costs for New Zealand as a whole: NZ$20,000–27,000 a year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

Plan my monthly living costs

Eligibility

General entry requirements at Otago Polytechnic for master's courses. Some courses ask for more, so check the course page.

  • Master's in applied management ask for a related bachelor's degree with a B- average at Levels 7/8, or equivalent qualifications and work experience.
  • Graduate diplomas accept an undergraduate degree or equivalent experience.
  • If there are more applicants than places, selection is based on academic record.

English requirements

For this course: IELTS 6.5 (no band below 6.0).

English tests accepted
TestWhat the university asks for
IELTS Academic (bachelor's and graduate diplomas)6.0 overall with no band below 5.5 for most programmes; Bachelor of Engineering Technology needs 6.0 in writing and speaking
IELTS Academic (master's and postgraduate diplomas)6.5 overall with no band below 6.0
Bachelor of NursingIELTS 6.5 with no band below 6.5, or OET C+ in each section in one sitting
Other evidenceOther internationally recognised tests are accepted under NZQA rules; English courses are available if you fall short

Need a score? IELTS and PTE coaching is available with us.

Intakes

This course starts in: February; April; July; October (Auckland).

Upcoming intakes and deadlines in New Zealand

How to apply

  1. Check the entry requirements and the deadline on the official course page.
  2. Take IELTS, PTE or the test the university accepts, if you need one.
  3. Prepare your documents: transcripts, statement of purpose, recommendation letters and CV.
  4. Apply on the university's application portal and pay any application fee.
  5. Accept your offer, meet any conditions and pay the deposit.
  6. Apply for your student visa for New Zealand, then arrange accommodation.

Documents you'll need

  • Passport (certified copy)
  • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets, and degree certificate and transcripts for postgraduate study
  • IELTS or other accepted English evidence from a test taken in the last two years
  • CV, cover letter and references where the programme asks for them

Scholarships

  • 2027 Otago Polytechnic International Scholarships

    Most certificates, diplomas, degrees and postgraduate programmes

    Value: Varies by programme; applied to tuition for up to 120 credits in the first year (for example NZ$26,900 becomes NZ$23,400 for the Bachelor of Information Technology)

    New international students starting full-time study in 2027 who meet entry requirements. No application: you are considered automatically. Cannot be deferred to 2028 or combined with other awards.

    Official page
  • 2026/2027 International English Pathways Scholarship

    English language pathway students

    Value: See the scholarship page for current value

    International students taking an English pathway into an Otago Polytechnic programme.

    Official page
All scholarships for New Zealand

About Otago Polytechnic

Otago Polytechnic is a public institute of technology based in Dunedin, in the south of New Zealand's South Island. It also has campuses in Central Otago and an Auckland International Campus for international students. It celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2016.

The polytechnic is known for hands-on, career-focused programmes in engineering technology, information technology, construction, nursing, design, culinary arts and applied management. Its Bachelor of Engineering Technology is accredited by Engineering New Zealand and its Bachelor of Construction by the New Zealand Institute of Quantity Surveyors.

Similar courses

FAQs

What is the fee for Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Management (Business Information Systems) at Otago Polytechnic?

The tuition for international students is NZ$28,590 a year (about ₹15.4 lakh). Auckland International fee; NZ$26,590 with the scholarship. Fee year not stated. Fees usually rise each year, so check the course page before you apply.

How long is Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Management (Business Information Systems)?

The course takes 1 year (120 credits, full time).

What English score do I need?

IELTS 6.5 (no band below 6.0). Some universities also accept Class 12 English marks or other tests; confirm on the course page.

When can I start?

Intakes: February; April; July; October (Auckland). Apply early: popular courses can fill up before the deadline.

Can Admission Mantra help me apply?

Yes. A counsellor checks your eligibility, helps you prepare your documents and statement of purpose, and guides you through the application and visa. The first conversation is free.

We researched this page on 28 Oct 2026 from the university's own pages. Fees, entry rules and intakes change every year; confirm them on the official course page before you apply. Listing a course doesn't mean Admission Mantra represents the university.

  1. Otago Polytechnic: Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Management (Business Information Systems) (opens in a new tab)
  2. Otago Polytechnic: International (opens in a new tab)
  3. Otago Polytechnic: International fees table (opens in a new tab)
  4. Otago Polytechnic: Fees for international students (opens in a new tab)
  5. Otago Polytechnic: 2027 International Scholarships (opens in a new tab)

Apply with Admission Mantra

Tell us about yourself and a counsellor will check your eligibility for Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Management (Business Information Systems) at Otago Polytechnic.

IELTS / PTE status
Best way to reach you

#YouInspireUs

Stories from our students and parents

#StudyAbroadSample
ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

#1 Student name

MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

All student stories